The Research Center of Electrochemical and Thermal Energy Storage,
Miñano, Spain.

CIC energiGUNE is an energy research centre located in Basque Country, Spain. CIC energiGUNE focuses on materials and novel devices for electrochemical energy storage, including batteries and supercaps, and thermal energy storage. This is achieved by combining interdisciplinary teams working towards (i) excellent and high-impact research in materials and electrochemical devices for storage applications; (ii) becoming a reference centre for collaborative technology transfer to industry and (iii) high level training of young researchers and creation of new business sectors. The centre has the backing of public institutions and administrations, and of companies directly related to the energy sector. CIC energiGUNE objectives are strongly aligned with the Basque Country RIS3 priorities and the Energibasque Strategy, which identifies storage as the central key to solve the future energy needs. Additionally, CIC energiGUNE is a member of the Basque Research & Technology Alliance, BRTA whose fundamental aims are, among others, to coordinate Basque scientific and technological capacity in order to create synergies and boost the innovation potential of the Region.

The group of Proof-of-concept and Cell Prototyping is leaded by Aitor Villaverde with the goal of promoting the design, fabrication and characterization of high quality prototype electrodes and cells based on the latest discoveries in energy storage materials. Currently, the multidisciplinary group is formed by associated researchers (3), postdocs (4), PhD students (2) and technicians (3) researching in all aspects of energy storage. Dr. Morant-Miñana is responsible of the e-Prot project. The research line involved in the e-Prot project has a strong background in the synthesis of advanced porous and nanostructured carbon materials that can be used as electrodes and could potentially increase the energy density of supercapacitors while maintaining the power and reducing the cost within WP3 (Co-Leader).

Contact Person

The research team

Dra Maica Morant

Principal Investigator

Dr Aitor Villaverde

Group leader

Dr Daniel Carrinzo

Research line manager

Dr Jon Ajuria

Associate researcher

Silvia Martin

Laboratory technician

Dra Maria Arnaiz

Postdoctoral researcher

Marcial Fernández

Postdoctoral researcher